PDA

View Full Version : Crusader in Limbo ?

hydrag
09-18-2014, 11:25 AM
Hey,

So I'm not a Dante expert. I read part of the books and had some summaries on it.
I watched the new movie "as above so below" last week. It is full of Dante.
As far as I am right now I managed to find like 90% of the Plot in Dante and matched
the fitting scenes. However this only works if the first Ring of Hell the limbo is
at that exact location.

For those who haven't seen the film: It's about an archaeologist who searches for the philosophers stone
in the Paris Catacombes. As they decend the meet famous scenes from Dante till they reach the final
floor.

Now in the first Circle ( where I think it is ) they find the tomb of Nicholas Flames, the man
who made the Philosophers stone and who set up that treasure hunt and all the traps.
They find him laying on a stone wearing a uniform with a big red cross on it, like
the crusaders had.

Now that makes me think. I know Dante is full of that question whether it was right to act like that in
the holy land and that the priests promised them that what they do is right but neither was
Flamel a Crusader nor do they belong into limbo.

The author of that story seemed to have quite some knowledge about Dante. Otherwise he would
have set up things like being buried head down in the 8th circle and so on. So I guess he
had Flamel wear that for a specific reason.

Too bad I played that videogames about Dante. That gave me some wrong ideas about the background story. So I have
to ask you about that. Could you imagine a reason why a Crusader might be in limbo ? Some criticism against
what they did ? Cause usually there are people who did everything well and never broke a law but just lived before
Christ and thus never had a chance to convert to Christianity. That was Middle Age's Believe, seeing that from
a different perspective I'd say, that the crusaders are less Christs that those who never converted to it.