PDA

View Full Version : Why is Shakespeare so popular?

English reader
03-29-2014, 02:31 AM
As the title says, why is Shakespeare so popular? What is so appealing about Elizabethan plays 400 years old that we continue to study them? Is it the language, the themes, the iambic pentameter, etc. I'm still an undergrad, so those of you in grad school and beyond please forgive me if this question seems so trivial.

prendrelemick
03-29-2014, 03:52 AM
In my uneducated view, I think people recognise their deeper selves in Shakespeare's works. He exposes and examines what lies beneath, its like having a reference work on the human experience, or more significantly, your own personal human experience. That's how I value him. The language and the form I find is something to get past in order reveal the insights - but the effort is amply rewarded.

Lykren
03-29-2014, 04:33 AM
Your question is not trivial.

At least for me, it's the language that forms the basis of the appeal. Some of his plots are interesting, but not especially so, and so it's the language, powerfully expressive and furiously wrought as it is, that carries the themes.

For example, when Othello is about to kill Desdemona in the dark he says "Put out the light, and put out the light"; the eerie simplicity of which underscores the primeval nature of the action soon to be executed.

On the other hand Shakespeare can be delicately whimsical (though many would rightly argue that he never quite loses that almost insidiously powerful ability to expose the subconscious urge to the bright light of our immediate awareness). From The Tempest:

Full fathom five thy father lies;
Of his bones are coral made;
Those are pearls that were his eyes:
Nothing of him that doth fade
But doth suffer a sea-change
Into something rich and strange.

There are, as well, statements so elegantly made they seem to produce meaning where there was none before. Also from The Tempest: