PDA

View Full Version : the character of Hamlet

Hannah
05-24-2005, 06:07 PM
I'm studying the character of Hamlet in depth and trying to find the reasons behind why he says and does certain things throughout the tragedy. I've been looking for what exactly sums up Hamlet's character. I believe it to be his love of justice, which drives him to seek revenge for his father's murder. However, Hamlet seems to be a multi-faceted guy...is there something else that I am missing that sums up Hamlet's character and influences him to act the way he does in Shakespeare's play?

KnowingThePages
08-12-2005, 02:56 PM
I once had to do an essay on this for ninth grade english. I believe that Hamlet was not mad at all but only pretending in effort to get revenge and seek justice on his fathers behalf. If you notice all through-out the play, there are many instances when his madness is calculated. In fact, it may even seem that he isn't mad at all. There's alot of different views on the subject.

Jagtig
10-11-2006, 04:15 PM
Hamlet is ambitious, as well as vengeful. "While the grass grows,..." the steed starves (that's the saying): He's popped between me and the election (the election to the crown of Denmark is almost certainly the reference): and the "chameleon's dish" reference (chameleons were thought to eat only air by the Elizabethans). shakespeare.wikia.com/wiki/The_Tragedy_of_Hamlet%2C_Prince_of_Denmark_You_Dec ide_Page#Does_Hamlet_have_another_motive.2C_beside s_revenge.2C_for_murdering_Claudius.3F

He's a kind of Christian paradox: humble and ambitious, vengeful and contrite, happier to do unto death as a response, or in reaction to a provocation by others (I believe that's called "active-passive). His identity as a lord of a nation of former Vikings is well intended, since these had been intensely anti-Christian in the past, robbing and destroying Christian establishments and communities whenever they had the opportunity in their roving raids.