PDA

View Full Version : Online versus classroom teaching

SFG75
07-05-2013, 10:36 PM
When I was an undergraduate, the "online" system was just coming up. I remember when "listservs" where all the rage and how exciting it was to debate others and to find people that you would never meet in a lifetime. When I was in grad school, I took one online course and it was pretty cutting edge for the time. Platforms such as moodle have been created to help facilitate discussions. "Drop box" features, forums, and walls where .pdfs can be downloaded provided a lot of neat information. I would be curious to know if anyone has had both kinds of classes and which they preferred. My second master's degree was entirely online with one face to face practicum meeting. I was highly motivated and "got more" out of that program than I did my first master's program which was entirely brick and mortar. The biggest downside however, was the lack of connectedness and sharing of ideas between students. I wish there had been some kind of cohort model, but in my line of profession, grad students are full time working professionals. While I could easily go on and definitely complete a similar program at the post-M.A. level, I would like to find more of a "blended" program that features both. Others would maintain that online programs an online learning is not as rigorous or as in-depth as brick and mortar lecture and cohort models.

So, what do you think?

Charles Darnay
07-06-2013, 12:24 PM
I am currently taking an online course and, while it has its advantages, I still prefer the in-person, lecture/seminar style classroom. I find discussions can actually work better in an online class, utilizing a forum. People have more opportunity to formulate, compose, and edit their thoughts than they do in person. In a traditional classroom, the instructor does most of the talking and often has to enforce discussion (even at the post-grad level) but online boards open the floor for equal opportunities.