PDA

View Full Version : How to Self Teach?

TheNamelessOne
12-13-2012, 03:25 AM
Hello, I'm hoping to become a competent writer. My goal is to someday become so competent that I could write a good novel. However before I could do that I'd need to know how I can improve my writing skills. So... could someone answer this for me? Should I practice by writing short stories and asking for feedback? Are there any online resources that I could use to give me a headstart? Any key aspects of writing that a prole like me wouldn't be aware?

MementoMori
12-13-2012, 09:25 AM
I'm by no means an expert, but I think the most important thing to do is read. You can't be a good writer without being a good reader. Read widely and variedly, paying close attention not just to what the author writes but how the author writes.

krishna_lit
12-13-2012, 10:08 AM