PDA

View Full Version : Is Austen verbose?

Munro
04-07-2003, 04:19 AM
I am currently studying Pride and Prejudice in my English class, and at first I found Austen's style difficult to read. She could be considered stuffy and verbose, that is, using more words than she really needs to. My teacher says that she structures complex sentences to make them effective, but many writers and readers follow the idea that clear writing is best.
When does an author become unnecessarily verbose, then? Is Austen showing off her command of language without needing to? If an author writes a story at what point can one say that they are showing off and using too many words, or is just using complex sentences for a purpose?

Shea
04-07-2003, 11:07 PM
I also had a difficult time grasping the language of Pride and Prejudice. I remember enjoying the story and how it moved, however, I think because I got lost in the words, I can't seem to remember the details of the story though I read it only 3 years ago. But the characters seemed kind of stuffy and "upper class" anyway, so I kept on reading because to me the language enhanced the settings of the story. Though this is one that I plan to re-read. I feel that clear writing is best, I certainly can remember the story better, but I also feel that Austen's verbose language reflected the complex rules and regulations that were expected from higher society conduct of that time. Did I forget too much of the story?

Blackadder
04-11-2003, 01:19 AM
If you want verbose, look at Samuel Johnson. His sentences are like marathons. :) Also Samuel Richardson--though his plots are like soap operas with MORALS. Tch.