PDA

View Full Version : American Literature Teach in China

chatfouz
08-10-2012, 01:22 AM
Good day y'all,

I am a teacher out in China. I normally teach biology and chemistry. However I have just been volunteered by my director to teach American literature. So glory be to me. I get to try to teach a month long seminar class. I could use some advice planning, preparing for class.

I was given most of the old materials from the previous teacher.
week 1 - 1400-1800 - indian myths, edgar allen poe, john smith,
Week 2 - 1800 - 1900 - Hawthorne, dickinson, (blank)
Week 3 - 1900-1950 - Frost, Langston hughes, Flannery O’Connor, Hemingway
Week 4 - 1950 - now - (blank)

I was left most of the lesson plans. I have only half the materials from week 2 and almost everything from week 4. I know the big stuff in 1800-1900 was the gold rush, Texas revolution, manifest destiny, post civil war. Any suggestions on literature to teach this? I have found some folk songs about the west.

Week 4 - post 1950 was a lot of racial tension, post war prosperity... I know the movies that show the history of the area, but I honestly don't know the literature/short stories/poems.

I know if I am posting here I don't really have business teaching this, but this is China and I am the resident American and thus it is now my responsibility to teach it. Any suggestions on authors, short stories, poems, folk songs I could use? I know this is a lot to ask, but I figure y'all know the material better than I do and at least could give me a list of authors to start looking through. I still have to find the literature, read it and plan lessons, that is fine. But any advice on where to start looking would save me SO much time and help me more than I could say.

OrphanPip
08-10-2012, 06:33 AM
How old are your students and how good is their English?