PDA

View Full Version : William Blake

K.Witherly
10-11-2011, 07:34 PM
Hello, I'm a university student currently working on a research paper on William Blake, particularly focusing on The Marriage of Heaven and Hell. I plan to argue against critics who say that Blake is a non-conformist, and would like to get some opinions from people on this discussion group, and possibly some of your favorite critics arguing for or against my opinion (against will make it more fun and interesting).

Charles Darnay
10-11-2011, 08:43 PM
What exactly are you arguing that he conforms to?

In regards to criticism I have not read much for Blake (though I have read most of Blake himself). Northrop Frye's "Fearful Symmetry" is a great book of criticism on Blake (though I admit I have little to compare it to.) If I remember correctly, he mainly deals with the "Marriage" as a work of Satire in line with/or not in line with the 18th century tradition of satire.

K.Witherly
10-11-2011, 09:17 PM
I'm arguing that The Marriage.. is a documentation of his struggle of being a conformist/non-conformist to societal norms. ( I do realize that this was probably not his actual intentions, but I was challenged by my professor to say something off the wall, and convince him that what I am arguing is plausible).

Charles Darnay
10-11-2011, 11:07 PM
I like it. I'm afraid I cannot provide much of a opposition as my relationship with Blake is mostly leisure based. But best of luck to you.

anishastrologer
10-12-2011, 01:13 AM
i too don't have much to offer but please keep me posted about your developments because i also like to explore off-the-wall interpretations of poems and stories and everything literature related.

PoeticPassions
10-12-2011, 03:38 AM