PDA

View Full Version : What to read in English?

Sirin
09-05-2011, 03:14 AM
Hi, all!
I am studying English and want to read something out of fiction in that language. I tried "Picture of Dorian Gray" - it is still difficult for me, I almost overpowered half, constantly looking in the dictionary.
Please advise me interesting books that are worth reading in its original language, which I could master.
Better if I can make a list of books on the increasing difficulty of the text.
Thanks in advance!

Charles Darnay
09-05-2011, 11:42 AM
It's an interesting question - a great book with accessible language? Personally I would say to look to 20th century as opposed to 19th century writing.

The Great Gatsby, for example, excellent book - not so difficult writing.
Heart of Darkness - same thing.
Grapes of Wrath - probably a bit trickier.
Fifth Business (or anything by Robertson Davies)

It comes down to what you are interested in - but my advice would be to start in the 20th century. (or 21st, I suppose....I guess it's about time to include 21st century writings into my recommendations)

Sirin
09-05-2011, 01:51 PM
I would say to look to 20th century as opposed to 19th century writing.
You are right, I'm not ready for the vocabulary of the 19th century, but I so love Wilde )

The Great Gatsby, for example, excellent book - not so difficult writing.
Heart of Darkness - same thing.
Grapes of Wrath - probably a bit trickier.
Fifth Business (or anything by Robertson Davies)
"Gatsby" - I read it in Russian, so it would not be so interesting. Maybe "Tender Is the Night"?

I will try to read other books from your list.
Thank you, Charles!

Charles Darnay
09-06-2011, 03:15 PM
Tender is the Night is also good.

Oscar Wilde is wonderful - but there is so much intricacy with word play which demands a good vocabulary. This is particularly the case with his plays.

monkeygiraffe
09-06-2011, 05:35 PM
catcher in the rye, franny and zooey or anything by j.d.salinger