PDA

View Full Version : Truth vs Pragmatism in Oedipus The King.

caddy_caddy
05-13-2011, 04:36 PM
I have a couple of questions concerning this play , I would really appreciate any idea from you that could help me understand more.
I always thought that the play is essentially about the value of truth in our life.
Whenever Oedipus tries to find the truth he is faced by those who questions the utility of truth and his goal . I think the most effective line among many lines is when the shepherd told Oedipus " why to know truth when truth is only pain!"
Isn't that Pragmatism?
I made some research about it and I found that there are many branches for it and many philosophers .
If I wanna look for a philosopher who speaks of the issue concerning the play which one should I read ?
I read that the kind of truth Oedipus is looking for is facts so is this empiricism vs pragmatism ??

billl
05-15-2011, 03:38 PM
caddy, I am not an expert on Pragmatism (the "school" of philosophy, with William James, Dewey, etc.), although I have in the past listened to one lecture about it, and skimmed over some pages here and there. Even worse, I haven't read the Sophocles play (although I know some of the basics of the plot). SO, I didn't want to answer this question. However, I might have something interesting to say, and so I will reluctantly post something in response since no one else has, knowing full well that someone who knows more might next swoop down and point out how I'm getting something completely wrong.