PDA

View Full Version : Do you give beggars money?

jajdude
04-30-2011, 01:47 AM
Hm. Guess I'm on a roll.

This is a question, again. I almost always give beggars something, a few coins. Not to make me feel good. I am concerned. I was near homeless once, yes with all my intelligence and education it can happen. I am not a proud man, I feel sad for our world. I feel sad for those who wave off beggars.

So, give or no?

Delta40
04-30-2011, 02:13 AM
If you don't give money to others less fortunate than yourself to make you feel good why pity those who don't give? What are they missing out on?

billl
04-30-2011, 02:18 AM
If you don't give money to others less fortunate than yourself to make you feel good why pity those who don't give? What are they missing out on?

Jajdude said that they DO give money to those less fortunate.

Delta40
04-30-2011, 03:14 AM
1 Jajude DOES give to beggars
2 Jajude DOESN'T give to make her/him feel good
3 Jajude feels SAD for people who DON'T give.

4 Delta asks if giving to beggars is NOT about making you feel good about yourself, what can people possibly be missing out on if they DON'T give

OrphanPip
04-30-2011, 03:19 AM
Ah, well one problem I have is that often many of the beggars in Montreal are professional beggars. They have homes but they go out with a gimmick to get money off of people, usually in tourist areas. Some outright lie, like begging for change for the bus in the subway.

I have no problem with supporting housing and public aid programs. More often than not you do more harm by providing them the money they need for drugs and alcohol. Instead, I would rather funnel, through my taxes, money into a more efficient social security system.

billl
04-30-2011, 03:34 AM