PDA

View Full Version : Middlemarch Discussion

Dark Muse
09-10-2009, 12:14 PM
I have decided to start reading Middlemarch and it seems like the kind of book that would be profitable and interesting to disscuss while reading, so I thought I would open this thread for any who may be interested.

There are no deadlines or due dates for reading, and you can join in at anytime and post as we read along. It is only asked if you have finnished the book to post SPOILER warnings if you will be giving anything away.

so enjoy!

Nightshade
09-10-2009, 05:30 PM
Ive got it but I wont be joining in, I suffeerd enough through Danial Derronda. To have another Eliot so soon after.

Dark Muse
09-10-2009, 06:22 PM
Ahh well that is a shame, for me this is my first time reading Eliot

Dark Muse
09-13-2009, 02:42 PM
I find there is something quite compelling in Eliot's prose. I cannot quite put my finger on just what it is, but I find that I was quite quickly engaged and drawn into the story, and find there is a sort of elegance in the way in which she writes. At the same time there is also a great deal of complexity in her writing and it seems there are many layers within the story. It is difficult to fully comprehend all of the intricacies within the story. It is loaded with allusions and I find the strong religious overtones to be interesting. I also feel there is something comic within her writing, the characters and their interactions are quite humorous at times.

Dorothea is a most fascinating character I think and she herself is quite complex as well in some ways I feel contradictory. Though she seems like she would be annoying to say the least to know her in person, as a character it is difficult not to have some admiration to her for I find her to be so thoroughly interesting.

Nightshade
09-14-2009, 07:27 AM