PDA

View Full Version : need help with assignment on Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

aurora_21
08-16-2009, 11:13 PM
Hello all, I'm an A-Levels student and I'm taking Literature in English as a subject.can u guys help me out by giving me ideas on how to write this assignment on the book Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte?here's the title:
" Discuss Jane as a narrator and as a character. What sort of voice does she have? In light of the fact that people who treat Jane cruelly ( John Reed, Mrs Reed, Mr Brocklehurst) all seem to come to an unhappy ending. Analyze the conflicts and discuss the moral and ethical implications for both the protagonist and antagonists."

kiki1982
08-17-2009, 05:11 AM
You could ask an additional question with that: how come that Rochester does not come to an unhappy end? and what with St John (unhappy or happy end)? Diana and Mary do come to a happy end, why (in relation to St John)?

And what does Jane do with her unhappy feelings towards those nasty people?

I think it has to do with coming into adulthood (for all of them) and rejection/acceptance of negative feelings within oneself. Forgiveness also has to do with that.

At the point where Jane returns to her aunt, she has accepted Mrs Red as being nasty, but she has forgivn her for it and accepts her present state of being (poor, orphaned and alone in the world), yet the aunt keeps rejecting her, hating her, that is why her death is so sad.

The same model applies to the rest, although some come to terms with negative feelings. .

Does this help?

You can take a look into my posts, if you like.

aurora_21
08-17-2009, 06:19 AM
hmmm..how about the conflicts part?what kind of conflicts should i write?
thank you very much for the reply and helping me =)

kiki1982
08-17-2009, 11:34 AM
How about what the difference is between Jane's perception of the Reed-conflict and the Rochester-conflict (or even the St John-conflict)? She definitely deals differently with them, why?