PDA

View Full Version : Tigana - Guy Gavriel Kay

Seraphina
06-07-2009, 10:46 AM
This is my favourite book in the world :)

Kay is not an author I'd ever heard of before, and Tigana was one of my 'intuition buys' (where a book I have no knowledge of just goes 'oo, buy me!' So far these buys have always lead to something awesome :) ). Whilst investigating him a bit, I discovered he was a prodigy of Tolkein, which got me rather excited. Then I discovered he worked with Christopher Tolkein on the Silmarilion. Very excited by that point.

Tigana, then. It's a fantasy novel, and has the usual sorcery, historically influenced setting (medieval Italy in this case), and a band of characters on a noble quest with the odds stacked against them. Where Tigana really stands out from standard fantasy fare is with the themes is tackles. Tigana tosses out the generic evil villain and noble hero, and instead takes a jaunt firmly into the grey area, investigating all the various moral shades of humanity (something being done with equal success now by Steven Erikson, I find). With the exception of one character (Alberico of Barbadior, not a very nice man and entirely motivated by greed, without any redeeming features), there are no two dimensional plot devices in this book. Infact, its main strength is without a doubt the characters. Both the 'good' and the 'bad' have their qualities and their flaws, many of them progress to become better, or worse, people, and most importantly of all, they are human. This is most triumphantly achieved in Dianora and Brandin.