PDA

View Full Version : Please help me (THE WASTE LAND) analysis

The Queen
05-29-2009, 07:35 PM
Hello

Please I want you to help me and give me some information about (theme, figures of speech ,style, rhym and diction) of THE WASTE LAND by T.S.ELiot

Please I need for these elements before my exam it will be after 4 days:bawling:

Wilde woman
05-29-2009, 09:51 PM
I'm no expert on Eliot or modernism (shudder), but some themes that the poem addresses are death, man's mortality, the relationship between man and nature, and sex.

The big clue for me was always the title which invokes a phrase from Weston's book that explores the pagan origins of the Holy Grail myth in Arthurian literature. From what I've learned in my Arthurian classes, the medieval Welsh believed that in order for their lands to be fertile and bear crops, there had to be a harmonious and productive relationship between the royal couple - meaning they could produce heirs. Now the queen was always believed to be an incarnation of the sovereignty goddess (basically, the Earth goddess). If there was strife or barrenness between the human king and his divine queen, then - it was believed - the land would be barren. Hence, the "Wasteland". The only way to restore the land's fertility, then, would be for some worthy rival to kill the old inept king and take his place beside the queen.