PDA

View Full Version : The Continuum - Chapter 1

Maiku²
04-05-2005, 02:22 AM
The Continuum

Chapter one : Reminder

My day was like any other day; it was a programmed sequence. I woke up. I dressed. I ate breakfast, I walked out to Times Square and saluted the empire state building; my idol and goal. I was just another one of the 100,000 workers all jumbled in the business of the New York streets. Nothing special about me.
My job? I worked as a stock broker. The pay was decent, I had a Cadillac, and no worries about my life. I had nothing to complain about.
But today was different. I could feel it when I woke up. My senses were tingling. I went through my routine as I did every other day. But at the end of the day, I had unknowingly driven myself to the bay. I walked to the guardrails and leaned on them, staring out at the flat ocean, the sunset, beautiful in so many ways, disgusting in many more.
I was about to leave, when suddenly I heard a voice.
“…You know me, Charles,” the sound was like a thin sheet of glass – it was so soft but yet clear.
Charles – who’s Charles? I looked at my name tag. James Henry Jacob. I’m me, that’s for sure. So who was calling?
“…You don’t know who you are, Charles. Wake up,” the voice was getting urgent and increasingly demanding.
“WAKE UP!”
“WAKE UP!”
My speakers screamed.
I rolled over, and pressed a button that deactivated the alarm.
I sat up, rubbing my eyes.
Wow, what a dream, I thought to myself.
I slept for another five minutes before the second alarm was engaged.
“FROM THE TOP TO THE BOTTOM, THE BOTTOM THE TOP I STOP…,” the heavy rock raged ( by the way, that was Linkin Park ).
I pressed the button once again, and got up finally to dress myself.
“I know myself too well,” I muttered.
If I had turned behind me and looked, I would have seen a person at the window, 50 floors above the ground.

Comments? Want chapter 2?

Rachy
04-24-2005, 04:44 PM
ooooooooo..........I'm intrigued........chapter 2?

Bandini
04-24-2005, 05:09 PM