PDA

View Full Version : Help!! New to teaching British Literature!

ccalitteacher
01-28-2009, 12:05 AM
Ok - I majored in Chemistry in college and then went on to be a middle school/high school math teacher. I work at a private school where curriculum can be improvised to match college standards. I'm teaching 11th graders this year British Literature because they couldn't get no one else to. I am not using the textbook the school has because it is REALLY old and I have no curriculum other than pulling things off the Internet. I need some help! I don't know what to teach in Literature. We've been reading some Dickens, Beowulf, J.R.R. Tolkien just to name a few. I need any advice on what to teach. Please help! Thanks!
Jennifer

Wilde woman
01-28-2009, 08:30 AM
Hi Jennifer,
In terms of big names you're missing, you'd definitely want to include Shakespeare and Jane Austen. I was taught Romeo & Juliet first, but I've seen lots of schools start out with the hard-hitting tragedies...Hamlet, Macbeth, King Lear, or Othello. Personally, I think "As You Like It" would be a fun one to teach. For Austen, I guess most schools start with "Pride and Prejudice", though I think Emma is more fun. Maybe to shake things up a little, you could throw in Orwell's Animal Farm or 1984. From what I've seen, students respond well to dystopian lit.

Is this an advanced class you're teaching? If so, you might want to consult the AP literature guidelines. Last I remember, they don't have any required reading, but they give an extensive list of recommended authors.

Have you done any poetry? How about some John Donne or William Blake?

ccalitteacher
01-28-2009, 10:32 AM