PDA

View Full Version : Whose is this fragment?

JuanOlvido
11-19-2008, 11:45 AM
Hi,

I've been researching for days and days now, not only browsing through anthologies but also asking some universities (such as the University of British Columbia in Canada), about this few words. Our English lit. teacher (I'm a student on English Studies in Spain) challenged us to find out whose author the following lines were:

It started off so well, everybody seems delighted. Even his sister was there looking at him and smiling. However [...]

Just out of curiosity, I've tried hard, but I'm desperate now... The only hints we got from him were that he/she's Canadian and that the fragment is part of a short story. I've checked and it doesn't belong to any of Margaret Atwood's pieces of literature (I'm one hundred per cent sure about this).

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

First post, by the way :)

Kind regards,

Juan

hoope
11-19-2008, 04:03 PM
Hi juan..

i will try to help u .. though it might sound really hard..
i can tell its not from a novel quote.. not a quote said by ay one..
Sounds a part of a novel.. so i'll try searching in historical classical novels..

and see what i can find.. wish you all the best.

JuanOlvido
11-20-2008, 12:13 PM
Hi juan..

i will try to help u .. though it might sound really hard..
i can tell its not from a novel quote.. not a quote said by ay one..
Sounds a part of a novel.. so i'll try searching in historical classical novels..

and see what i can find.. wish you all the best.

Thanks a lot for your help, hoope. You're a new hoooope altogether now :P

Ok, enough with the bad jokes :D Thing is, I mentioned it did belong to a short story... I know it may not exactly fit in this subforum, but I thought it most appropiate to put it here.

Thanks a lot. Please, keep it coming, I can't find anything anywhere.

PabloQ
11-20-2008, 02:04 PM
Juan,