PDA

View Full Version : Students with potential

TheInsomniac
10-26-2008, 09:39 PM
Have you ever come across a student with great potential in any subject, but they never apply themselves?

And if so... how did you deal with them?

kayj
11-04-2008, 06:35 AM
I feel your pain. I have volunteered my time to teach ESL classes for a couple weeks and I was a student teacher for a week for high school students. I think that the best way to get them to participate is to really engage the class with something that is interesting to the entire class, possibly something interactive. I would suggest discussions and debates where the winning team gets some sort of prize. The students will encourage each other to do their best in order to have a strong team and ultimately win. However, if you try everything and he is still unresponsive my philosophy is "you can open doors, but you can't drag someone through them," and let them decide that they need help and come to you; that's when they are willing to be helped and when you can help them the most.

optimisticnad
11-04-2008, 07:55 AM
Find out why they won't 'apply' themselves in the subject, if they're good at it then there is usually a reason why they don't try in it. Perhaps they think there is no future in it - make understand there is. I liked the above suggestion, that you need to make things interesting to get their attention. Make them understand how lucky they are that they've been given an opportunity to educate themselves whereas in some parts of the world children as young as seven have to work to eat to work to eat etc.

TheInsomniac
11-04-2008, 10:14 AM
All great idea's, Thanks!

kayj
11-05-2008, 02:00 AM