PDA

View Full Version : Um... hi! Newbie here!

D'Artagnan
07-22-2002, 03:41 AM
Hello, people!

Well, I'm a member of several online message boards, but I've noticed there aren't too many on the subject of literature. And, since the one I used to post in has been down for quite a while now, I'm glad to have found a new place in which to discuss the classics.

I saw there are over 500 members, so I hope I get to meet a lot of cool people here. See ya around, folks!

D'Artagnan
07-23-2002, 02:11 AM
Well, gee, not all at once, please...

For a site with over 500 members, I must say it's dreadfully quiet.

AnneSchjerven
07-23-2002, 10:33 AM
Welcome, my friend ;) Pay to attention to the screaming bookworms here...they attack you at once anyway....as if...

Anyway, I'm Anne. Also a newbie but one who loves to read :D Hopefully, we can talk some more, discuss authors and books and poems...

Anne

D'Artagnan
07-23-2002, 11:28 PM
Hi, Anne, and thanks for the welcome. :)

This seems like a pretty quiet place, but I suppose newbies like you and me can change that! And I'll definitely be on my guard for the screaming bookworms; I've heard how dangerous and vicious that kind of creature can be! ^^

I have to admit that poetry isn't really my strong point, but other than that, I love talking about most anything dealing with literature. What are your favorite books and authors? And are you reading anything right now?

AnneSchjerven
07-24-2002, 06:10 AM
I'm having a little break from serious reading, but I am reading "Bored of the Rings" by The Harvard Lampoon. My favourite authors would be Oscar Wilde, Stephen Fry, JRR Tolkien, D.H.Lawrence, Virginia Woolf, Ben Bova and Norman Mailer. My favourite book is The Lord of the Rings. I am a huge Tolkien fantatic ;) It is almost scary, really, how many times I have read those books by JRR Tolkien.