PDA

View Full Version : The Butterfly's Day By Emily Dickinson Anaylsis

purplediamond
11-25-2007, 09:20 PM
Hey! Everyone. I'm new to this, so let's hope this gets posted. Well, I'm doing an essay on one of Emily Dickinson's poem called The Butterfly's day. I have to analize it, but as we all know her poems are kind of difficult to understand. So I'm hoping this is the right place to ask for help. I understand the beginning part, where she's comparing a butterfly to a lady. They've both appeared from being hidden. But after that I seem to get lost. I don't know if she's talking about the butterfly in some stanza's or the lady.
From cocoon forth a butterfly
As lady from her door
Emerged — a summer afternoon —
Repairing everywhere,
Without design, that I could trace,
Except to stray abroad
On miscellaneous enterprise
The clovers understood.
Her pretty parasol was seen
Contracting in a field
Where men made hay, then struggling hard
With an opposing cloud,
Where parties, phantom as herself,
To Nowhere seemed to go
In purposeless circumference,
As 't were a tropic show.
And notwithstanding bee that worked,
And flower that zealous blew,
This audience of idleness
Disdained them, from the sky,
Till sundown crept, a steady tide,
And men that made the hay,
And afternoon, and butterfly,
Extinguished in its sea.

Scube
12-05-2007, 12:32 PM
Emily Dickinson had an amazing imagination and loved to find and ascribe human characteristics to objects and animals around her (anthropomorphism). She also had the brilliance to create wonderful, whimsical poems to describe their human-like behaviors, such as she did with this poem.