PDA

View Full Version : Writing Problems!

yute
11-20-2007, 08:13 PM
I'm a Literature student who is having problem with my writing skills.I would greatly appreciate any help that can be offered.Thank you very much.:yawnb:

Beverly S
11-20-2007, 08:35 PM
I'm a Literature student who is having problem with my writing skills.I would greatly appreciate any help that can be offered.Thank you very much.:yawnb:
There's a number of really good writing books out there that should help. Have you tried "Portable Literature?" It's written by Kirszner & Mandell and is a literature book used frequently by English classes. It's very helpful. Ask at your local library or at a Borders about helpful writing books. There's tons of 'em out there!

Charles Darnay
11-20-2007, 11:25 PM
Any chance you can be more specific ...what exactly are you having trouble with?

blazeofglory
12-08-2007, 01:26 AM
Writing problems can be solved by writing only not by anything else. Of course there are hundreds of guidebooks they can help you, indeed, but they do only if and when you take to writing, or else it is like you are thirsty and there is a river near by. Knowing the river does not quench your thirst, you have may have to go there and drink.

Read more and more and write. Imitate, for literature is imitation, an imitation of nature of human behavior and nothing else. And the better the imitator the better the writing skill. That is it.

Etienne
12-08-2007, 01:30 AM
Imitate, for literature is imitation, an imitation of nature of human behavior and nothing else. And the better the imitator the better the writing skill. That is it.

No, not at all.

blazeofglory
12-08-2007, 04:56 AM
No, not at all.

Can you write without imitating something? Every writer imitates and in that process some efficient ones better the idea imitated and others worsen them. Art is indeed a matter of imitation at the base.

B-Mental
12-08-2007, 05:01 AM