PDA

View Full Version : Sexual Fantasy in Dracula Films any ideas

cartsay
11-13-2007, 04:44 PM
Hello everyone

IS BRAM STOKERS DRACULA BASED ON A SEXUAL fANTASY???????????????????

HELP

I need a bit of help an trying to find out why, were and what kind of sexual fantasy are in dracula films.

i want to find out why women are dominated in all horror films connected to dracula films.

if this is possiable for anyone to give some pointers or even a bit od advice to start me of in the right direction would be nice

P.S im a A level student studying film and this is to help me with my project THANKS

Dark_Twinkle
12-02-2007, 05:28 PM
Women were most likely dominated in 'Dracula' films because of the time period that Dracula was created, which was in the 17th Century (I state this because Bram Stoker started his Dracula around about 1890 - so I'm making an educated guess here)

So during this era, women were docile, fragile and very easy to manipulate. Dracula was also portrayed as handsome (I'm not sure in Bram Stoker's version) but there was a reason why he was called 'Prince' of Darkness - not the boogie man or monster of darkness. Being called a prince represented handsome, wealth and power.

Therefore Dracula in a way used his dark looks to seduce women, they were easy prey and much easier and preferable to get closer to than men. It was easy to pretend in giving them a love-bite on the neck to a woman than a man.

Oh, and since Dracula depends on blood for life and survival, it makes sense there would be sexual fantasies on both the Dracula and Women's part. The tension, suspense, horror and sexual arousal are a powerful combination of emotions to display in films for the audience. There's the fear that the woman will die as she gets closer to Dracula through the seduction process - it makes a good hit in films because I suppose fear and sexual desire are some of the intense emotions we feel.