PDA

View Full Version : Reading Suggestions for AP Lit Class

bluelightstar
10-21-2007, 09:24 PM
Hi, I am new here. This is my first year teaching AP English Literature, and I would like some input as to what works I should teach before the exam in May. This is the suggested list that was given to me by our English Department Chair, and we have already done a few of these.

Samuel Beckett's Waiting for Godot - We've done this one.
Dante's The Inferno - Finished this and completed a project.
Dostoyevsky's Crime and Punishment - This is the novel that we're on now, but we should be finished this upcoming week.

The other works that I am supposed to choose from are Oedipus Rex by Sophocles, The Stranger by Albert Camus, Beloved by Toni Morrison, The Things They Carried by Tim O'Brien, Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte, The Tempest by Shakespeare, Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad, One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, A Doll's House by Henrik Ibsen, and Fences by August Wilson.

Of those works, I have decided that we will almost definitely read The Stranger, Beloved, and The Things They Carried, and I'm leaning towards teaching Heart of Darkness as well.

Which works do you think would be best for 12th grade AP English Lit students? Thanks!

aswelch
10-22-2007, 08:51 PM
Well, the only play you have done is from Absurdism. This isn't a really representitive sample of Theatre. I really think it would be good to do any of the other plays. Personally, I like them all but you are covering racial issues in Heart of Darkness so we can leave Fences out to make the decision easier. After that...I guess it depends on which direction you want to take the class. Gender issues in A Doll's House, Colonialism, magical realism, and the issue of "the other" in The Tempest, and Oedipus Rex is classical and touches on many other issues as well. I personally have studied Oedipus and Doll's House to death so I would go for The Tempest.