PDA

View Full Version : Ivan and Varya

NikolaiI
10-19-2007, 10:45 AM
This is my first attempt at a short-story writing. Questions and criticisms welcome. :) Sorry the dialogue is not better, I know it's weak.

Oh; the title "Ivan and Varya" was a typo. Varya's the dog! It's supposed to be Ivan and Vera. But then, after reading the story, if anyone has suggestions for a better title I'm open to it. I had a couple other ideas, but I'll wait for your input.

----

On a bright, fresh, April morning, it had just stopped raining at the Timoschenko estate, and the sun was out in glory, warming the forests and hills. Ivan Ilyitch Timoschenko looked up from his writings and picked up his tobacco-pipe, gazing out of the window, smoking it in leisure. He looked out and mused upon his stories, his estate, and his situation in life. He was very lucky; he was born with money and luck, and he had a beautiful wife he'd loved for all of his life.

Ivan and Vera Timoschenko had moved into the state a year and a half ago, after their marriage and honeymoon. They lived with their two dogs Vita and Varya, and enjoyed the serenity of 90 acres of mountain forests, trails and ponds. It was two miles out from Bely. They enjoyed the weather and life in the country; they each pursued their own interests as well as each other. Ivan was a Buddhist and a writer; Vera was a painter and an atheist. They each loved literature, and were both very spiritual.

The beauty and naturalness of their surroundings meant that they were never at a lack for motivation. They each loved to camp and hike in nature. Living with the luxury of having time and not having to worry about money, life was easy. Ivan and Vera were they type of people who will make the most out of their situation, and they squeezed all the pleasure they could out of their lives.