PDA

View Full Version : Searching for a short story; possible name - "The Wall"

Mixman
10-04-2007, 05:25 AM
Hello! I'm new to this forum.
I'm trying to find a short story, which was translated in my country with the title "The Wall".
The story is about two patients in a hospital room. The first one is close to the window and sees everything from the outside world. The other one is not and he's asking his companion to tell him everything he sees through the window. One night (or day) the second patient changes somehow the pills of the other patient and kills him. Then he asks the doctors to put him next to the window. The patient sees that the only thing that is visible from the window is a dirty, semi-destructed wall.

Now, I was told that this short story is from O"Henry, but it is possible that this information might be wrong. I'm a student filmmaker and I want to adapt this work to a screenplay.

I will be glad if anyone can help me!

ejwitt
10-21-2007, 09:55 AM
Hello Mixman,

I know the story you are looking for and I think it would make a great movie. It has been one of my favorites since childhood. Post me at <[email protected]> and I will send it to you.

EJ Witt

Logos
10-21-2007, 10:08 AM
You could do a search by key word of his works on the site :)

http://www.online-literature.com/o_henry/

AuntShecky
10-21-2007, 07:56 PM
I think you are looking for a story by O. Henry. The title is
"The Last Leaf."

geezerpk
10-21-2007, 09:34 PM