PDA

View Full Version : suggestions please.

rezeille
09-25-2007, 08:33 PM
good day. i'm a self-professed Austenite. the truth is i'm a newbie and now craving for more of her romantic wit. would any of you kindly suggest other authors that have the same affinity for "purist" romance? sadly, i was quite disappointed with one of the new age sequels of miss austen -- mr. darcy takes a wife. it was not to my taste. like austen, i'm into the "social propriety" and the like. thanks.

an email suggestion is greatly appreciated: [email protected]

Newcomer
09-26-2007, 03:22 PM
You probably will not be satisfied with any contemporary writers that use Austen as a theme. Our sensibilities have changed and it's no good trying to recapture stylistically the past. Quite apart from the lack of genius.
You might try Darcy's Story by Janet Aylmer - "Pride and Prejudice" from the Hero's point of view "I am very pleased with the book. I enjoyed Darcy's Story because it is faithful to Jane Austen's plot and to her characters." by Jean Bowden, the Curator at Jane Austen's House, Chawton. The web has
http://dspace.dial.pipex.com/town/estate/xda34/aboutbooks.html
where you can get an idea of the novel. However to get a deeper appreciation of Austen, I would recommend reading her predecessors and followers. Here is a short list:
Frances Burney – Cecilia and Camilla. - Austen was influenced by Burney's novels. Following Austen are Charlotte Bronte's Jane Eyre and Emily Bronte's Wuthering Heights, two very different books. And at the end of the Victorian period - George Eliot's Romola and Middlemarch.
That ought to keep you busy for a few evenings. If you wish to further dwell into women writers you could consult - British Women Fiction Writers of the 19th Century by Harold Bloom
Happy reading!

littlelit
10-02-2007, 02:35 PM
The only person who can give you a taste of Austen's wit is Austen herself.