PDA

View Full Version : New Member needs advice on Romantic Poetry Assignment and wants to say 'Hi'!

Ashley83
05-20-2004, 09:12 AM
Hi everyone, I am a University student in England and so I thought it would be useful to sign up to this forum. The site itself is great and has proved indispensable to my needs.

I do wish to ask for some advice however, on an assignment I am currently working on.

The question is as follows:

'In what ways, and to what ends, is Romantic Poetry characterised by autobiographical impulse?'

The question seems fine, it is the answering I'm having problems with!

Not really, I actually think this seems pretty straightforward, but the assignment is 3000 words and while I would know where to begin and could probably write about 1000 words on it, I feel I will very quickly run out of things to say. I'm sure you all know what that feels like!

I have particular Romantic poets in mind. Namely, William Wordsworth, Lord Byron and John Keats, all of which write in a very personal manner and there is a lot of their life experience in the happiness, anger and sadness of their poetry.

Is there anything in particular, regarding their personal lives, or the nature of their poetry that you would recommend I discuss with regard to the question? Can you advise me on a particular poem that matches up with an era or even a moment of their lives and is therefore self-reflective and in a sense autobiographical?

Any advice would be recieved with the utmost gratitude, and just a simple 'hello' would still be recieved with thanks!

My name is Ashley, but you can call me Ash or whatever you like (within reason!). I am male, 20 years old and live in England.

Thanks and I look forward to a response and any future discussions we may have on the boards.

verybaddmom
05-20-2004, 10:44 AM
hello Ash. welcome to the best forum on the internet.