PDA

View Full Version : jane eyre readings

Sydneygirl
07-04-2007, 12:16 AM
hey evryone,
i was hoping for some help,
i am currently studying jane eyre, and i am looking for some feminist readings of the book.
does anyone have access to one? or know where i could find one.?
thanx guys
sydneygirl x

sciencefan
07-05-2007, 09:55 AM
hey evryone,
i am currently studying jane eyre, and i am looking for some feminist readings of the book.
thanx guys
sydneygirl xThey're EVERYWHERE- ad nauseum!
Just spend some time searching through this forum.
In the last 4 months, it has been heavily discussed here.
Look for it, and you will find it.

Newcomer
07-05-2007, 12:32 PM
hey evryone,
thanx guys
sydneygirl x

Hi Sydneygirl,
Not many offers of help! Tough assignment since you'll have to be very imaginative to make a good argument. I'm afraid that you will not find much help in 'studying' Jane Eyre since Charlotte Bronte wasn't interested in the subject. Maybe if you would specify the view point of feminism that you wish to structure your argument around, whether from the First Wave, Second Wave or the Third Wave, you'll get some specific offers.
First I would try to determine how the wind blows: the ideological cant of your teacher. That can mean the difference between a A+ or a passing C. Worse if you go against her opinion you risk a D with a note “lacking originality” comment. Political correctness is de rigueur in the field.