PDA

View Full Version : An Attempt at Fiction

chaplin
06-28-2007, 03:08 PM
I have never written any fiction before this, and I may not again for a long while, I feel so silly trying to do it. It all seems quite useless for me to write what so many others, mostly dead now, already wrote so well. However, just because I wanted to see what would come out of my pen, I wrote a couple of pages, and I wanted to get an opinion if there are any redeeming qualities in them.

I was nudged out of sleep and back to consciousness by the rap of the kitchen door closing. My half-clouded eyes opened on the motionless wall, perfectly white in the day, but now a yellow gray, reflecting the colors of our wing at night.

The sound of new rubber on smooth floor from the soft steps of the night orderly tapped alongside the silent rustles of socks, as Randy was corraled back to our room. I heard Randy ease on to his bed with a drawn-out, emotionless sigh, then a similar rap to that of the kitchen door as the bedroom door was shut. He then tossed back his cup of ice, filling his mouth full of it, and started his crunching like a sputtering motor.

Without looking I knew Randy wasn't laying or reclining. Whenever he ate ice it was always in an indian-style sit, and always directly in the middle of his bed, on top of the foam green blanket that frosted all of the beds here. I looked anyway, furtively, mostly to somehow express my consternation at being woken up. The light glowing through the small rectangle of window cast a blue gray light over Randy's face, illumined just enough for me to see the half-grin that curled his lips; the lips that were like an island in the sea of his pitch dark beard. I sighed silently and emotionlessly while I turned back to the still wall, forced to return to sleep with the image of those crunching lips floating in space between neck and nose, the chin and cheeks that lips are usually hooked to disappeared by that bottomless beard.