PDA

View Full Version : Birthday Fish

TheKupster
06-27-2007, 04:19 PM
I've actually already submitted this story to a small magazine and received a nice response. What I'm looking for here on this forum is some help on what the editor said was wrong with it: pacing in some spots and a few lapses in structure.

I'm a rookie when it comes to this writing game. I'm not really sure where the best place is in the story to add some description, or perhaps omit something unneccessary to make it flow better.

Any and all suggestions, criticism, compliments, or critiques welcome. :)

I remember the summer of 1976. It was the year the Big Lady almost made my mother a widow and abducted her only son.

Every year on his birthday, my father would plan a trip to visit his mistress--the Big Lady. I remember accompanying him on these expeditions from the moment I could crawl. My mother never protested this infidelity, but seldom would join us. An invitation was always offered.

“No, you boys just go have fun,” said Mom.

She knew she would be as out of place as a man at a baby-shower, and had no real inclination to intrude on our activities.

“Are you sure you don’t want to come along this time,” said Dad, feigning disappointment.

Another eye-rolling polite refusal by my mother, and we were free to make preparations for our adventure with her approval. A list of essential provisions was made the night before we set out. To forget a crucial item such as the camera would be an unforgivable sin. There would be no turning back for retrieval of anything left behind once we were on the road. Any frivolous delay in the morning would be frowned upon by my father. An early bedtime was required for me, so I would be well-rested for tomorrow.

It seemed like my head had barely touched the pillow when my father roused me with a gentle shake on the shoulder.

“Wake up, it’s time to get going,” he said in a hushed voice. “Try to be quiet. Your mother’s still sleeping.”