PDA

View Full Version : HELLO and ALL OF THAT

GrayFoxDown
05-22-2007, 02:00 AM
Hello to one and all (give or take a few). I'm a newbie here at OnlineLit...at my age (53...but don't tell anyone) it's good to be somewhat "new" anywhere I could find an excuse for newness. In the days and ways to come, I hope you'll find my postings interesting and informative (or at least worthy of a certain morbid curiosity...I'll take anything!!!).

The author at the heart and soul of my existence is Charles Dickens. I'm fully aware that many love him and just as many hate him, while others are merely indifferent towards him. However,(dare I say it!) second only to Shakespeare, Dickens fascinates me and I'd like to offer my own modest views and interpretations of his works.

In addition to Boz, Opera and Ballet are my passions. My wife and I are legends (in our own minds at least) at Lincoln Center (Prokofiev is "cool" and Puccini and Verdi really know how to "lay down a tune").

In spite of this, I still require a healthy dose of an occasional Three Stooges Marathon...I don't care what anyone says!!! Best Regards and you'll be hearing from me soon...that's a threat. Thank you for listening,

GrayFoxDown:alien: :crash:

Haven
05-22-2007, 03:48 AM
Hello to one and all (give or take a few). I'm a newbie here at OnlineLit GrayFoxDown:alien: :crash:

Hi GrayFoxDown

I joined yesterday and have to say I like the look of the forum. It covers a lot of the ground that interests me, and really I have only just had a vague wander through. I am doing a degree in Humanities, so really this is home from home. A 'haven' in fact. ;) thus the choice of avatar name, okay, sorry explaining the obvious.

Sounds like you and your wife are very active in your pariticipation of the arts and extremely lucky to live within striking distance of the Lincoln Centre. Have to say Verdi's La Traviata is my favourite opera. Violetta is a truly tragic heroine.