PDA

View Full Version : To a Skylark, and Ode to the West Wind

q2bu2
05-07-2007, 10:04 PM
hello everyone!
i am having a little trouble....i am not very good with poetry
i am trying to analyze these two poems of Shelley's, and come up with a commanality between the two. So far i have only been able to come up with a very boring theme of nature. To me, Shelley seems to use nature as his metaphor. In 'to a sklark', he compares his poetic self to the bird, and in 'ode to the west wind' he compares the wind to his poetry..?
i know, not very good at all..but like i said im stuck...
any advice???? please! :)

Miss Madison
05-17-2007, 05:48 AM
Me too! I was just going to make a topic about this! I really need help with To A Skylark!

elibats
07-03-2008, 09:19 PM
weird, i'm writing the same paper. try exploring the symbolism of the leaves in "ode to the west wind," and the season of autumn.

Dipen Guha
07-07-2009, 03:58 PM
P.B. Shelley addresses the skylark as "blithe spirit" in the opening stanza. A uniqe spirit of uncompounded joy, not tasted by the substantial world, has been metamorphosed to a bird . An abstruct virtue of pure delight is presumed to have taken the physical form. So the poet says ," Bird thou never wert".

Dipen Guha
07-07-2009, 04:13 PM
"And singing stii dost soar, and soaring ever singest"---The epigramic appreciation is about the skylark pictured by P.B Shelley. The skylark keeps singing incessantly in its neverending gyration. Its singing and soaring are in perfect symmetry. Its physical motion and vocal function are meant for each other.

Dipen Guha
07-22-2009, 09:08 AM