PDA

View Full Version : Kafka's Short Stories!

Nossa
04-27-2007, 01:02 PM
I studied "A Report to an Academy" this term in my short stories course, and I just loved it.
I was wondering if any of you know more short stories written by Kafka..I'd love to read more of them!

frivolity
04-30-2007, 03:51 AM
Nossa,

The book you see in this link (http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/0805210555/qid=1146498451/sr=2-1/ref=sr_2_3_1/026-9472567-5478052) is a complete collection Kafka stories. I own a copy of that book..It has even the fragmented, unclassifiable writings from him. Try to get it. Metamorphosis is available in this site and elsewhere on the web.

CountingSheep
05-13-2007, 02:37 AM
I love that book! What would you say your favourite Kafka short story is frivolity? I personally like The Burrow, The Metamorphosis, and In the Penal Colony.

Enchanted
06-21-2007, 04:12 PM
"In the Penal Colony" was most graphically touching. Though I really enjoyed "The Judgement" and "The Metamorphosis" as well.

Tabula_Rasa
08-24-2007, 05:08 AM
A DREAM ,
BEFORE THE LAW,
ELEVEN SONS,
JACKALS AND ARABS,
A FRACTRICIDE,
A HUNGER ARTIST,
IN THE PENAL COLONY,
JOSEPHINE THE SINGER, OR THE MOUSE FOLK
A REPORT TO AN ACADEMY,
A LITTLE WOMAN,

are all amazing short stories by Kafka... I highly recommend them all...

blazeofglory
09-22-2007, 06:30 AM
I studied "A Report to an Academy" this term in my short stories course, and I just loved it.
I was wondering if any of you know more short stories written by Kafka..I'd love to read more of them!

Kafka is one of my best writers indeed. I have read the Metamorphosis many a time, and each time I got a different meaning. I like all of his stories. Kafka is really an immortal artist. His ideas are capable of expressing human predicaments in this century more expressively and impressively than many other modern writers.

The hunger artist is another story I like to read repeatedly

blazeofglory
09-22-2007, 06:31 AM
A DREAM ,
BEFORE THE LAW,