PDA

View Full Version : Salutations...

Werther
04-22-2007, 12:06 AM
As this is my first official post, allow me to introduce myself. I come from a cultural wilderness in the south west Pacific called New Zealand. I do not normally use computers and I am the world's slowest typer - so please bear with me. Last year I finished a diploma in German literature which involved writing a dissertation on the influence of Nietzsche on the early work of Thomas Mann. Prior to that, I did a philosophy degree. My favourite writer is Oscar Wilde to whom I was first introduced by my other great hero, Morrissey (pop-singer). Before the end of this year, I intend to exile myself to Ireland on a working holiday. The last book I read was 'Twilight of Love: Travels With Turgenev' by Australian author, Robert Dessaix. Presently reading Schopenhauer's 'World as Will and Representation' and Shakespeare's 'Hamlet' - works which obviously compliment one another.

Nightshade
04-22-2007, 03:42 AM
hello:wave:

bazarov
04-22-2007, 04:39 AM
Welcome and have fun!

Werther
04-22-2007, 05:11 AM
I must say, Fathers & Sons is one of my favourite novels. I can't say that I totally approve of the character of Bazarov, but like Turgenev, I have a deal of sympathy for him. Well chosen name. I like you.

bazarov
04-22-2007, 05:47 AM
I must say, Fathers & Sons is one of my favourite novels. I can't say that I totally approve of the character of Bazarov, but like Turgenev, I have a deal of sympathy for him. Well chosen name. I like you.

But Bazarov isn't nihilist...Never mind!

muhsin
04-22-2007, 07:02 AM
Hello there! Have a nice staying dear.

kathycf
04-22-2007, 04:20 PM
. Before the end of this year, I intend to exile myself to Ireland on a working holiday.
Oh, I'm jealous. ;) Try not to work too much and just enjoy the country. So many interesting things to see there. Whereabouts will you visit?

Werther
04-22-2007, 09:12 PM