PDA

View Full Version : Poetry Scamming

megs180
02-17-2004, 08:22 PM
Hey Guys!
I found this on yahoo, um..alright...so i'm a teen writer. I don't know much about copying writing your own poetry, or publishers or ANYTHING..you have to help me out here..i'm desperate. Alright, so I submitted a poem to VOICESNET.com, it was a youth contest. They emailed me and said they chose my poem for their book. Now, let's see...I have to pay for the book. I didn't copywrite my poem before I sent it, and if I don't send them a snail mail thingy..lol..i'm too lazy to write anything smart here..so bareee with me..ahha! Anyways, back to what I was saying..they wouldn't publish it. NOWWWW...is this another one of these poetry.com scamming websites..has anyone heard of this website? Please...if anyone could respond to this, it would help me out big time. Thanks alot..oh and also, they said on their website that this is not Vanity Press, what does that mean?

Megan

star blue
02-18-2004, 10:45 AM
hehe, that was only a joke.

amuse
02-18-2004, 01:25 PM
your jokes are abominable.

do you ever stop to think of the person who asked the question who then goes on to read that crap? obviously not.

star blue
02-18-2004, 01:42 PM
I'm really sorry.

amuse
02-18-2004, 02:13 PM
roger.

star blue
02-18-2004, 02:32 PM
I could really offend someone if I wanted to, though.

StephenFryer
02-19-2004, 01:35 PM
I don't know whether voices is a scam like poetry.com and the others.
But I do know that there are people out there making money out of the likes of you and me, by publishing our poems on condition that we buy their books. The leeches. Don't go there. Maybe you will get some poems published and not get paid anything and, for a poet just starting out, maybe that's fair. But paying for it? No way.
Good luck with your stuff, though.

subterranean
02-20-2004, 03:09 AM
Originally posted by star blue
I'm really sorry.

I don't know that you could said sorry. Good for you :o