PDA

View Full Version : Help! The Marriage of Heaven and Hell is....

prophitus_86
01-17-2007, 06:59 PM
Hey. I'm a freshman in a 300 level lit. class and we are discussing the aforementioned piece of writing. We can't really go into very deeply because of time limitations, but I would really like a deeper understanding of the work. I would really appreciate it if wiser minds than mine would help. Thank you. :crash:

Jean-Baptiste
01-17-2007, 08:28 PM
300 level Freshman, eh? How and why did you manage that? I'd like to discuss this work with you, prophitus. I'm quite a fan of it. What sort of things are you concerned about with it? I won't pretend to be an expert, and I haven't learned about it in a formal way, but I've read it several times, and thought about it quite a bit. Perhaps you could start by telling us what you think about it. Welcome to the forums!

prophitus_86
01-24-2007, 07:06 PM
Well, I like it a lot. I think that I understand a little bit of it, like how he has in essence created his own mythos by taking what the bible says and instead of reading it literally, he interprets it creatively. He believes that instead of being chained to one school of thought and that it is a virtue to be able to think creatively and perhaps even be able to change your mind. My prof. described it as an Eastern Zen writer (his name escapes me) put it. He said that we should be thinking in a three cornered box. To be able to think so creatively that you can see the "poetic genius" in almost everything. I'm not sure if I am even close in what I am saying, sorry. Oh, and by the way, my first lit. teacher suggested that I take this course, a Dr. Terri Burrous, if you've heard of her. Thanks Jean-Baptiste.

rintrah
02-06-2007, 03:36 PM