PDA

View Full Version : Hamlet- Presentation of Women

jonathanhare
12-14-2006, 07:55 AM
I am studying Shakespear's presentation of women in Hamlet.
I have broken it down to how he depicts Ophelia and Gertrude to be Oppressed by men- The dommination by Claudius Polonious Hamlet and Laetes. Also I want to concentrate on the tragedy and death of the female characters. But I have been instructed too show how Shakespeare uses religion to portray the female characters. But how does Ophelia's burrial show a presentation of women? Doesn't it just show that people who commit suicide should not be burried?

Gwenhwyfar2828
12-14-2006, 11:28 PM
do you mean the fact ophelia was buried in unhallowed ground or her funeral scene?

Redzeppelin
12-20-2006, 12:53 AM
Your chosen language indicates a possibility that your instructor has a feminist agenda ("oppressed" and "domination" are popular feminist discourse terms). If this is so, I can't help you much because I think it's silly to interpret 16th century literature with 20th century ideologies. Neither woman is "oppressed" by anybody. Gertrude is a willing partner in her incestuous (by the medieval church's standard) relationship with Claudius. Who "dominates" her? Ophelia wasn't "oppressed" so much as she was restricted by a suspicious father and abused by a betrayed and angry lover. Shakespeare was not writing a play to "oppress" women - he was writing a play about the problem with trying to rationally reach a position of 100% certainty. Ophelia suffers not so much because she is a woman but because she is the only truly innocent person in the diseased world of Elsinor. Getrude dies - ironically, in light of the "dominance" idea - by defying Claudius's "power" over her ("Gertrude - don't drink." She ignores him and "exercises her freewill against patriarcal oppression" and drinks poison. Dies. So much for female empowerment).