PDA

View Full Version : How old was everyone here when they started reading Wodehouse?

Haya
08-30-2006, 07:58 AM
What ho!

I was wondering at what age everyone here began reading (and loving) Wodehouse?

Everyone I know personally who is a fan began reading him as a child. I started at 8 years old.

I would be grateful for as many answers as possible! I'm thinking of ways to increase readership, and your answers would be very helpful!

kathycf
08-30-2006, 09:04 AM
I love Wodehouse, but did not start reading him until in my mid 20's.

Mary Sue
09-01-2006, 07:54 PM
...age 15, when I first discovered P.G. Wodehouse. My Dad returned home from a library sale with two moth-eaten old books, "Thank You, Jeeves" and "Laughing Gas", respectively. "You might like these," he said, tossing them in my lap. "Very amusing, I think you'll find them."

I wasn't so sure. I studied the one on top, the one with "Jeeves" in the title. Externally it wasn't much to write home about. A worn and dog-eared copy. Kinda like something the cat might have discovered in Tutenkhamen's tomb. But to humor the old blood relation I went through the motions. I opened to page one...read a few lines...fell madly, hopelessly in love...and the rest is history!

Now, years later, I own well over 100 copies of the Master's books, the contents of which have seeped deep into my psyche. I mean to say, what? I have sported on the green of Valley Fields and played tennis with Rodney Spelvin. I have visited Blandings Castle many times----always under false colors---and listened to my host rhapsodize about his prize sow. I have hobnobbed with Eggs, Beans and Crumpets in the Drones smoking room. I have been hoodwinked by Ukridge and charmed by Psmith. I have even blackmailed the bigwigs at Perfecto-Zizzbaum in Hollywood, wanting them to make me the next Minna Nordstrom. And whenever the slings and arrows of o. f. threaten to get me down, I have Mulliner's Buck-U-Uppo as a magic restorative.