PDA

View Full Version : American accent

totyfroty
08-26-2006, 05:03 PM
hi guys
i really need some help
i am a student at the faculty of language (department of english)
and i really want to improve my american accent so if anyone can help me in that , please sent me a message and i will really appreciate that
thanks
take care

have a nice day

mono
08-26-2006, 07:12 PM
Hello, totyfroty, welcome to the forum.
Though from the United States, I hardly know what to say of the American accent - sometimes strong, sometimes lazy, a lot of slang, and a variety of sub-divided accents (Western, Southern, Mid-western, New York, Jersey, Boston, etc.). I browsed around the Internet a bit, and this site (http://alt-usage-english.org/audio_archive.shtml) may help. Good luck! ;)

ElizabethSewall
08-26-2006, 07:52 PM
Hi and welcome on the LitNet, totyfroty! :wave:

Being French and having studied English in University as well, I would suggest listening to American radios and songs, plus watching as many American movies as you can. Listening really is the key if you want to improve your accent. Learn the bases through imitation and pay attention to where the words' stresses are placed.

Bonne chance!! ;)

jon1jt
08-26-2006, 08:09 PM
Hello, totyfroty, welcome to the forum.
Though from the United States, I hardly know what to say of the American accent - sometimes strong, sometimes lazy, a lot of slang, and a variety of sub-divided accents (Western, Southern, Mid-western, New York, Jersey, Boston, etc.). I browsed around the Internet a bit, and this site (http://alt-usage-english.org/audio_archive.shtml) may help. Good luck! ;)

True, some of us Jersey folks have an accent (besides me!) But the accent is not complete without the Jersey attitude. Here's an (un)typical conversation between a driver asking for directions and a Jersey guy.
--------
Driver: Excuse me, sir, I need directions to Hoboken.

Jersey Guy: How you doing?