PDA

View Full Version : the missing month ?

tanner
08-18-2006, 10:10 AM
Hey guys
i'm studying Tess as my school text for VCE, and while i was analysing it, there seemed to be a month and a half missing from the time that Alec rapes tess to when she leaves the D'Uberville mansion...
It seems very out of character for Tess to actually stay with Alec as his mistress, yet for the life of me i can't fathom why she didn't leave straight after the rape...
Also, a student from another class drew up a time line of events that happened and it shows that Tess did not actually fall pregnant the night of the rape, because it does not coincide with the birth of Sorrow, meaning that Tess slept with Alec after the rape.

the problem i'm having is that for me to be able to write an essay on Tess being a victim, i can't see her as such if she willingly slept with Alec afterwards..

any ideas?

- tanner

mono
08-18-2006, 11:25 AM
Hello, tanner, welcome to the forum. ;)
I also thought it strange for Tess to remain with Alec, yet, considering Alec's character, I suppose, it makes some sense. Alec d'Urberville from the very beginning seems like a very seductive, witty man, but also someone very manipulative and greedy, explaining how he could have taken advantage of the naïvete of Tess. She never willingly had intercourse with him, and did not exactly seem entirely physically forced, but more like weakened and aggressively persuaded by the strong will of Alec; indeed, I would still consider this forceful, only not in the common sense of the word 'rape,' as it seems frequently used today.

Also, a student from another class drew up a time line of events that happened and it shows that Tess did not actually fall pregnant the night of the rape, because it does not coincide with the birth of Sorrow, meaning that Tess slept with Alec after the rape.