PDA

View Full Version : The character of Drummle - how is he significant?

Tune_up
07-19-2006, 05:50 PM
Hello, I'm studying GCSE English and have been assigned an essay on how Charles Dickens explores the theme of gentlemen through the characters Pip and Joe.

I thought it would be interesting to include a paragraph Drummle - the “fake” gentleman.

Has anyone got any suggestions on how he is significant in the book and pip’s views of him/his of pip?

Quotes would also be welcomed if you would!

Thanks so much :)

x x x x x x x

mono
07-20-2006, 02:52 PM
Though Drummle can seem a bit of a minor character, I certainly agree how he makes a considerable effect on Pip, having married Estella.
In the whole book itself, in my opinion, Drummle has little significance, only seeming a rude, immodest, and cruel person (what one may call the typical 'alpha male' type, incessantly desiring superiority and domination over others :D).
Pip, I think, never liked him, to say the least; and Drummle's marriage to Estella only drives his frustration, jealousy, and dislike toward him more with strength. Pip, however, maintains his passive manner, saying little, but more avoiding the situation.
Drummle, in my opinion, likes no one, simply enough. His anger and seemingly, in his eyes, justified cruelty, due to his self-held superior role in life, cause many people to detest him and dislike his presence. Estella, too, finds the truth in why so many people avoid Drummle, and she, also, after his death, results in telling of an unhappy marriage.

capri87767
08-27-2006, 10:09 AM
I kind of feel that drummle is an imporatnt character in estella's life... You know how her charcater is one which has always talked down to men especially Pip, it's important to see that Drummle's charcter actually puts down estella and abuses her... a sort of role reversal, which can be seen in other characters also.

The Nights Wing
01-25-2007, 08:18 PM