PDA

View Full Version : The River

Ryduce
04-25-2006, 03:34 PM
First off let me say that I am a TERRIBLE writer,and I'm actually kind of scared to show this to you this because I'm so shy about my writing skills .Please be honest,but not brutal.I hope you enjoy.

The town of Jameson is situated in the middle of the Smoky Mountains. The land itself is stunningly beautiful with a diverse array of flora and fauna. There are rolling hills and meadows with a myriad of indigenous rhododendron. Pink, purple, and orange wildflowers make the soft hills seem almost tide-like, rising and falling until they reach the foothills of the serene peaks of the Smokies. The immense mountains create a dazzling blue opposition to the multicolored elegance of the meadows below. Aside from being aesthetically pleasing, Jameson and it’s surrounding areas are a geological oddity. The town and it’s three thousand inhabitants reside in a small depression, or a crater, at the foothills of two great mountains. The confluence of these two mountains create a valley, which became a great river as a result of thousands of years of rainfall. The river is a quarter of a mile wide, and is fed by dozens of streams along the mountain. The streams sprawl over the vast terrain like veins to the artery that is the river, beating on through the heart of Jameson.

Storms had come in from the South and there was a tepid drizzle of rain falling in a paradoxical contrast to the cold softness of the ground. The resounding clash of thunder could be heard coming from far off in the distance. It echoed throughout the town, and then dissipated back to nothingness.

The thunder had caused Daniel Whitmore to stir from his late afternoon nap. His dark brown hair laid over his head as he stared at the ceiling listening to the monotonous pitter patter of rain. For reasons unknown to him, storms such as these frightened him