PDA

View Full Version : Existentialism

Soma
04-25-2006, 03:00 PM
I am a student of philosophy and I was wondering what your thoughts on existentialism are. What do you think of the idea? Please respond to this openly and welcome to others opinions as (in all philosophy) there is no right or wrong answer. I just wish to view what your individual ideas are regarding the concept.

IrishCanadian
04-25-2006, 03:20 PM
I think that existentialism is the easy way out. A creation of "truth" is not human's place. There is too much choice in existentialism and therefore becomes a perversion of the metaphysical reality. Having said all this, who would want to choose an invented "reality" that has you depressed all the time?

Bandini
04-25-2006, 04:02 PM
Read Sartre's 'Nausea'. Then read Camus' L'Etranger (The Outsider). Then pretend to read 'Being and Nothingness', but really just dip into it with 'Using Sartre' byMcCullocch in your other hand - it gets a bit tedious otherwise to be honest.

Existentialism is the easy way out?? Once you dealt with the angst man!

Soma
04-25-2006, 04:30 PM
I don't find existentialism as the easy way out. It is merely a view point on how to view the coming into existance. It is not by any means and easy way. I find that the most prominent way to learn the diferent views of existentialism is by reading both Kirkegaard and Sartres works. Just any of the different works can shed light on teh subject. Bandini, I must say though that once you deal through all the angst that comes with such and idea one can also come to a feeling of totally ecstasy and realization of ones thoughts after having fully seardhed and pondered the idea.

Bandini
04-25-2006, 04:34 PM
I'm there matey!

genoveva
04-25-2006, 04:39 PM