PDA

View Full Version : Is it really him?

PocoLoco
03-20-2006, 02:45 AM
Hey guys, i am new to this, but it seems really cool.

Last semester, my class read the Odyssey. I had read it before in high school but never realized just how much was packed into the book. Anyway, my professor mentioned that there was a reading of the book that suggested that it might not have even been Odysseus that returned to Ithaka. I took it and ran with it. I researched the book and found some pretty startling discoveries that pointed in this direction.

I, myself, called it the Trojan Horse theory. That the person throughout the story was actually like the horse in that he snuck in under the disguise of something else and plundered, or just got some stuff from the islands he visited as he went. There is alot more things that i found, but i want to see if anyone's interested in hearing it before i go and write out everything.

I was just wondering if anyone else had heard of this point of view and had any thoughts on it.

Thanks

PeterL
03-21-2006, 03:25 PM
It is easy to believe that Odysseus didn't exist, that he was simply a fictional point of view character. In historical fiction it is very common to insert a character through which the actual history is described. The way that I read the Odyssey is that it is partly historical and partly allegorical. The trip to the various places is essentially allegorical; the places and people encountered are symbolic. Whether the return to Ithica is historical or allegorical, I am not sure. The mentions of the battle of Troy are historic.

Charles Darnay
03-21-2006, 07:03 PM
Hey guys, i am new to this, but it seems really cool.