PDA

View Full Version : Loyalty and Honesty

MarvinL
03-07-2006, 11:38 AM
Dear Reader,

I am a german student and we have just reads The Great Gatsby in class. I very much enjoyed the book and felt much sorrow for Gatsby that he did not fullfill his American Dream.

Everyone in our class has gotten an assignment. Mine is:

Loyalty and Honesty are 2 qualities under the sportlight in the story. Discuss this statement.

For one it is true.

I can talk about the different relationships. That character are loyal or not loyal to each other.But what else is there to say?

Honesty?? Gatby is just a fictional character.Gats is the real person. Gatsby got wealth through illegal things. I really dont have much idea what to say...

please any1 help me.

Thanks alot
marvin

Stismet
03-07-2006, 11:48 AM
I haven't read the book, but it sounds to me like if Gatsby got his wealth by doing illegal things, that really does put the spotlight on Honesty. If you focus on that a bit, you can get a lot of good information. Doing illegal things, depending on the activity, can also bring up loyalty - is it truely loyal to do such things?

Just a few ideas. Good luck.

djmyerhmgirl
04-07-2006, 08:55 AM
The other characters are also linked to the themes of loyalty and honesty.
The main characters are:
Daisy:
Loyalty
She promised Gatsby, before he went to war, that she would wait until he returned. She got sick of waiting and married a richer man with a better education, displaying disloyalty to Gatsby there. Later she cheated on Tom with Gatsby, which is obviously disloyal to her husband
Honesty
Daisy isn't dishonest directly, but she allowed others to believe it was Gatsby who killed Myrtle when in fact she was the one at the wheel. When the 'sh*t hits the fan' so to speak, Daisy lets others take care of her.

Tom
Loyalty
Obviously Tom cheated on Daisy with Myrtle. He was abusive to his women, which shows he was a particularly dishonourable, if not disloyal, character.
Honesty