PDA

View Full Version : Great Work, what are the philosophies?

vanityofvanity
03-04-2006, 09:23 PM
Hello scholars,

I just finished reading Siddhartha and found out that it's a marvelous work. But I'm more interested in the philosophy of it. What are the philosophies that involved in the work, do you know? I'm eager to hear from you all.

LittleVoodoo
11-26-2006, 10:12 PM
I studied Philosophy and one of my professors was kind enough to let me explore both Siddartha and Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintence as I was interested in Eastern Philosophy. He thought these two books were great intros to Eastern Philsophy from a Western point of view, but he said that Western and European Philososphers didn't really consider traditional Eastern thought Philosophy, it is too close to religion. Not only do we seperate the church and state, we tend to seperate the spirit and the mind.

Turk
11-27-2006, 11:14 AM
Buddhism. Siddhartha is almost a biography of Buddha Gautama.

fiorella
03-30-2008, 11:50 PM