PDA

View Full Version : New to Austen

Night Stalker
03-03-2006, 11:02 AM
Hey, I'm new to Jane Austen but i have to study her books for when I start A levels in september so I was wondering if you could suggest one of books that is relatively easy to read. Thanks!

mir
03-03-2006, 11:19 AM
i've heard that pride and prejudice is very good - i'm only just starting to read it now, but everyone i've talked to loved it.

Pensive
03-03-2006, 01:27 PM
I loved Pride and Prejudice and then I started Emma in hope that it would be good too, but to my astonishment, it was extremely boring.

Scheherazade
03-03-2006, 01:36 PM
I don't consider Emma a boring book at all. Both the book and the character Emma herself are realistic and entertaining. Her shortcomings, which are more clearly shown than those of Elizabeth Bennet's, make her very endearing to me.

I found Northanger Abbey the easiest one to read. It does not require the analytical reading Austen's other books do, I think (and it is relatively shorter as well).

Pensive
03-03-2006, 01:44 PM
Emma might be realistic but I found the novel very slow-moving and not full of action, so it did not appeal me at all.

To me, Pride and prejudice was five times better than Emma.

Nightshade
03-05-2006, 10:27 AM
only five?

Now I love mansfield park. I just do. A;lthough I belive it may well be the longest of her books

The Unnamable
03-05-2006, 11:26 AM
Pensive and Nightshade,
Could you say why Emma is boring? I never thought I would say this but I agree with Scheherazade here. Emma is far more fully developed and engaging than Eliza Bennet. Austen’s incisive, penetrating observations are masterful in Emma. The two novels are not dissimilar – Pride and Prejudice is Emma with the colour saturation and brightness buttons turned up.

Xamonas Chegwe
03-05-2006, 11:44 AM