PDA

View Full Version : A little help with Finnegans

Judy_O
02-26-2006, 11:03 AM
Dear forum members,

My name is Judy. I am an English-Hebrew translator. Recently I translated My Ear at His Heart by Hanif Kureishi. Kureishi quotes a line from Finegans Wake. Finegans Wake had never been translated to Hebrew (from obvious reasons, I suppose, though other books by Joyce had been translated).

This is the line from Finnegans:

"O, begor, I want no expert nursis symaphy from yours broons quadroons and I can psoakoonaloose myself any time I want (the fog follow you all) without your interferences or any other pigeonstealer."

(Joyce criticizes psychoanalysts, as you all know)

The editor insists on translating it to Hebrew. I know, it is outrageous!

Well, I guess I can somehow translate this one line to Joycian style Hebrew, if only I understood what it says, and if only I understood the puns .

Can you help me?

Thank you very much for any help you can give me

Judy

nome1486
03-24-2006, 09:09 PM
Hi Judy,

I have not read Finnegan's Wake, but I have studied Joyce and from what I've read about the Wake it sounds like context is an important part of the meaning of any one part, just as in poetry. It might help you to read the surrounding paragraph(s) to get a better idea about the puns involved. Sorry I can't be more helpful

Daniel A. C.
04-28-2006, 09:48 PM
Wow, that seems like an almost impossible task - I think you need to find an Israeli Joyce scholar, fast! If you do translate the line, I would be interested to see a post on how you did it, though I don't speak Hebrew, just like to hear how you went about it. When I read Ulysses in university, we talked a little about some translations, but I think this sort of line is way harder. Good luck!

redhairedstrang
08-02-2006, 07:37 PM
Try this (hope its not too late for your project):