PDA

View Full Version : Tolstoy as Teacher

lavendar1
02-15-2006, 11:57 PM
I read somewhere sometime that Tolstoy had an innovative approach to teaching -- "Do what you want," he suggested to his students. After the day I just had as a teacher, I'm beginning to wonder if he wasn't "onto something."

From what I remember, his idea was that students should come to school only when they chose to do so, and be taught only what they were interested in learning. Several days per week, he said, he had no students...but the rest of the time he did and those students were truly there to learn something.

Certainly, we can't subscribe to such a carte blanche approach to education -an entity that has sadly become a machine - grinding forward and away from its goal of providing students with the tools they need to live meaningful lives - leaving both teachers and students wondering what the hey they're doing "in school." What to do? What to do? It's for minds bigger than mine. Forgive the rant. It's been a particularly challenging day. Now what would Tolstoy do...?

Virgil
02-16-2006, 12:02 AM
Oh, I wish I had Tolstoy as a teacher. I wouldn't have shown up until my mother got wind of my playing hooky and then she would have given me a swift kick in the pants. ;)

Idril
08-25-2006, 09:53 PM
He did have some revolutionary ideas about education and it seemed to work for him. He may have had days where there weren't many children but the enrollment steadily increased to the point where he had to hire other teachers to help out. I would imagine he was a wonderful teacher and made learning actually fun but I would also imagine that their knowledge was somewhat hit or miss. I think of it like a foster sister I had who had spent her entire school life in and out of institutions, brilliant girl, even graduated high school a year early but had no idea what Asia was, she had these huge gaps in her knowledge and I could see those peasant children of Tolstoy's being the same way.